Facebook allows you to have one account. (Refer to Section 4, item 2: Facebook Terms.) When I first started my business I set up a second account to keep business and personal separate, but thanks to lists and now even easier list management, you can do it all with one account and comply with Facebook Terms. Breaking Facebook ‘rules’ can result in account closure, so it is advised that you comply to protect your digital presence.
So if you have more than one account, decide which one to keep. I decided to close my original account which I opened in about 2007, because the newer one had more of my business relationships.I figured I could add all my family and friends easily, but I did lose the data that would have been on my Timeline.
Before deleting take any info from the accounts to be deleted, such as backing up your Facebook data. Click on Account Settings from the top right menu. Then select “Download a copy of your Facebook data” at the bottom of the list. This downloads:
Any photos or videos you’ve shared on Facebook
Your Wall posts, messages and chat conversations
Your friends’ names and some of their email addresses. (Only friends who’ve allowed this in their account settings will be included.)
You may want to message all your contacts letting them know your profile to contact with (when logged into the profile to keep, copy your address then paste into your message when logged back into the profile to be deleted). Update your status to share this. If your profiles are ‘friends’ with each other, tag your preferred profile. If you have photos you have been tagged in, tag your other profile so it shows up in your Timeline.
When ready close the account there are two options, either deactivate your account, or delete it. I would recommend you deleting in this case.
If you would like your account permanently deleted log in to your account and complete this form. Do not try to log in to this account again, as this will undo the request. It will take some time to delete, to allow for users to change their mind. But I would take this option as final, once done, it cannot be undone.
If you deactivate your account your profile (timeline) information is saved just in case you want to reopen your account. If you reactivate your account, everything will look just the way it did when you left.
If you permanently delete your account:
- You will not be able to access the account again
- All personal account info is removed from the database.
- Some info such as photos may not be deleted but isn’t accessible or linked to personal data.
To deactivate your account:
- Click the account menu
- Choose Account Settings
- Select Security from the left-hand menu
- Click on “Deactivate your account”
If you want to reactivate your account, log in with your email and password. Your profile (timeline) will be restored in its entirety (friends, photos, interests, etc.).
Do you need to delete a Facebook Page?
To delete your Page or Place:
- Click Edit Page at the top right corner of your Page
- Select Manage Permissions from the left sidebar
- Click Delete [Your Page Name]
You will have the option to unpublish or delete your Page.
Unpublishing keeps the page, but it won’t come up in searches. Deleting is permanent.
If you need any help with your Facebook strategy, contact Wildfire Social Marketing.